Let eyes grow dim and heart grow faint (Vivekananda)


Let eyes grow dim and heart grow faint,

And friendship fail and love betray,

Let Fate its hundred horrors send,

And clotted darkness block the way.

All nature wear one angry frown,

To crush you out — still know, my soul,

You are Divine. March on and on,

Nor right nor left but to the goal.

Nor angel I, nor man, nor brute,

Nor body, mind, nor he or she,

The books do stop in wonder mute

To tell my nature; I am He.

Before the sun, the moon, the earth,

Before the stars or comets free,

Before e’en time has had its birth,

I was, I am, and I will be.

    –Swami Vivekananda

About amartingarcia

General surgeon (retired). Studied Western philosophy at U of Toronto. Afterwards interest turned to advaita vedanta and non-duality for past 20 yrs, plus a long interlude in Sufism coinciding with that period. Now contributing in ’Advaita Vision’ with regular posts and discussions.
This entry was posted in Poemas/cuentos. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let eyes grow dim and heart grow faint (Vivekananda)

  1. uma shankar vajpeyi says:

    MATCHLESS

  2. jai kumar says:

    It’s realy very absorbing and encouraging poem by swami Vivekanand

    • Swami Vivekananda himself was a strong and courageous person who revolutionized Western ideas about the spirituality and wisdom of India. No doubt, and understandably, you also enjoyed that poem. Regards.

  3. Pradipto says:

    Swamiji is my spiritual leader.

Leave a comment