Knowledge alone…


Knowledge alone can liberate:

“Why is knowledge the only means to freedom, moksa? It is because freedom sought is limitlessness itself, that choiceless human goal underlying all other human struggles for limited ends. Limitlessness is not something that can be created or produced. It either is or it is not. Limitlessness, by definition can never be the end product of a process of becoming. An endless series of limited things will not constitute limitlessness.”

“Often as I look around I judge myself to be bound, limited, inadequate. At the same time there is that love for freedom that in occasional moments of joy or insight seems to be fulfilled as fact, contradicting all my experiences of inadequacy. Thus even though my usual experience is that of being limited, on the basis of my innate nature to be free, backed by intimations that freedom may be my nature, I am led to search for knowledge of the truth of myself to discover whether or not I am that being I want to be. If the freedom I seek is an accomplished fact, my failure to appreciate that fact can only be due to ignorance; and if my only problem is one of ignorance, search for liberation becomes a search for knowledge that will dispel my ignorance that keeps me from knowing myself as I am.”

Swami Dayananda Saraswati

About amartingarcia

General surgeon (retired). Studied Western philosophy at U of Toronto. Afterwards interest turned to advaita vedanta and non-duality for past 20 yrs, plus a long interlude in Sufism coinciding with that period. Now contributing in ’Advaita Vision’ with regular posts and discussions.
This entry was posted in Sin categoría and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

