From the Bhagavad Gita, chs. 10 & 11: “I am time… etc.”


In his Introduction to the Bhagavad Gita, translated by himself, George Thompson makes in interesting comparison: “When at 10.32 Krishna says, ‘Arjuna, I am the beginning and the end of all created worlds, and I am their middle as well’ , this is not very different from the profoundly bold assertion attributed to Jesus at Revelation 1.8: ‘I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the almighty'”.

Thompson then refers to the assertions of self-praise made by Krishna in the same chapter of the Gita, ‘I am Vishnu… I am the radiant sun… I am lightning… I am Indra, etc.’. In contrast, Arjuna  utters an equally elaborate sequence of ‘I see you assertions’ (11.15-310), which is responded by Krishna as follows:

I am time, the agent of the world’s destruction, now grown old and set in motion to destroy the worlds. Even without you, all of these warriors arrayed in opposing battle-formation will cease to exist!

About amartingarcia

General surgeon (retired). Studied Western philosophy at U of Toronto. Afterwards interest turned to advaita vedanta and non-duality for past 20 yrs, plus a long interlude in Sufism coinciding with that period. Now contributing in ’Advaita Vision’ with regular posts and discussions.
This entry was posted in non-duality, religion, spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

