‘I am knowingness… ‘


“Am I the body, senses or mind? No. If I claim to be anything, that must be with me wherever I go. Doing, perceiving, thinking and feeling do not go with me wherever I go. ‘Knowing’ alone is always with me. So I am knowingness of Consciousness alone. I am that always, and I am free. I can only be that which remains over when the object or active part is separated from the perceiver, perception or percept”.

Sri Atmananda – Krishna Menon

“… that which remains over when the object or active part is separated from the perceiver, perception or percept.”

It means: These three are in duality, which is the condition of the mind, always operating as subject-object, etc. Everything objective is not ME, who am eternal and unmovable.  “They (objects) are in Me, but I am not in them” – Bhagavad Gita. The final teaching, however, is that ‘everything’ is not other than Me (Unity, no separation; something to be intuited)

About amartingarcia

General surgeon (retired). Studied Western philosophy at U of Toronto. Afterwards interest turned to advaita vedanta and non-duality for past 20 yrs, plus a long interlude in Sufism coinciding with that period. Now contributing in ’Advaita Vision’ with regular posts and discussions.
This entry was posted in Advaita, awakening, non-duality, spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

