… longings still unmet (Ghalib)


I leave with scars
and the ache of longings still unmet.
I am a candle,
blown naked in the wind,
not fit to stand at the table
where men rejoice.

Everyone! Come!
Our door is open, our vision is clear.
Here we see only what is true –
“The high, the low, the good, the bad”,
we can see none of this.

My yearning has loosened
the veil hiding Beauty.
She is now mine – but alas,
my own sight is there
blocking the view.

The beat of my own heart
sounds in my ear.
The wish to live as others do
has long been silenced.
What does their world has to offer? –
Nothing but the echo of voices
yelling “more, more”.

“I do not fear love’s cruelty”.
But my friend, your heart
which beats so proudly
is the first thing She will take.
Ghalib

About amartingarcia

General surgeon (retired). Studied Western philosophy at U of Toronto. Afterwards interest turned to advaita vedanta and non-duality for past 20 yrs, plus a long interlude in Sufism coinciding with that period. Now contributing in ’Advaita Vision’ with regular posts and discussions.
This entry was posted in awakening, Poemas/cuentos and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

